Grades Of Concrete

Initial setting time

Grades Of Concrete:

In IS: 456-1978, the different grades of concrete are given as M10, M25, M20, M25, M30, M35, and M40. In the classification of concrete mix, the letter M denotes the Mix and the numbers 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40 represent the predetermined works cube strength of 15 cm cubes after curing of 28 days in N/mm2.

The works cube strength refers to the strength achieved by the concrete after 28 days curing. It can also be defined as the crushing strength of concrete cubes at 28 days. The compressive strength of the concrete should not be greater than 5% of the test results are expected to fall. The list of specified concrete grades are given below:

READ -  Creep Of Concrete
                   Grade Of Concrete Specified Compressive Strength At 28 Days (N/mm2)
M10 10
M15 15
M20 20
M25 25
M30 30
M35 35
M40 40

Note 1: M5 and M7.5 concrete also exist which can be used in lean concrete bases/mud and for ordinary masonry wall foundation.

Note 2: Concrete grade less than M15 should not use in reinforced concrete.

Note 3: M10, M15, M20…. concrete approximately equal to 1:3:6, 1:2:4, 1:1.5:3… nominal mix.

Also Read – Concrete Mix Design: Design Mix Concrete & Nominal Mix Concrete
If You Liked This Article Then Please Subscribe To Our Newsletter.


READ -  How To Control Concrete Waste At Site



Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *